Jun 22, 2024  
2021 - 2022 Catalog 
2021 - 2022 Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Facilities Info

The main campus of the University of Mary is located six miles from downtown Bismarck. It includes the Lumen Vitae University Center, the Leach Center for Student Life, the Casey Center for Nursing Education, the Harold J. Miller Center, Arno Gustin Hall, University Hall/School of Engineering, the Clairmont Center for Performing Arts, Welder Library, Hillside Hall, Greg Butler Hall, Boniface and Boniface West Halls, Roers Hall, North Hall, Deichert Hall, Boyle Hall, the Cloisters Apartments, the McDowell Activity Center, the Richard A. Tschider Center for Health Sciences, the Wellness Center/Field House, the Harold Schafer Leadership Center, the Liffrig Family School of Education and Behavioral Sciences, the Benedictine Center for Servant Leadership, and the Gary Tharaldson School of Business.

All academic facilities and a limited number of rooms in the residences are accessible to students with physical challenges.

The University also maintains two in-town classroom facilities in Bismarck: the Butler Center for Lifelong Learning on South 7th Street and the Front Street Building at 500 E. Front Street; sites in Fargo, ND; Grand Forks Air Force Base, ND; Watford City, ND; Billings, MT; and Fort Riley, KS. The University, in conjunction with its partnership with Arizona State University in Tempe, AZ, also maintains office and classroom space adjacent to the ASU campus.

  • Lumen Vitae University Center: This newly constructed two-story facility serves as the beacon and central hub of campus. This facility includes a large ball room (Founders Hall),  the campus restaurant and dining facilities, the Student Health Clinic, the Bookstore, student social and study areas, a bank, a convenience store, wrestling practice room, and access to the newly constructed Marian grotto.
  • Harold J. Miller Center: This building houses the department of Mathematics and Natural Sciences, department of Occupational Therapy, and classrooms in graduate programs in Athletic Training and Exercise Science.
  • Casey Center for Nursing Education: Named after a Bismarck land developer and University benefactor through the Casey Trust, T. Clem Casey and his wife, Meredith, this classroom and office building houses the Division of Nursing as well as office space for faculty in Exercise Science and Athletic Training.
  • Arno Gustin Hall: Named after the third president of the University of Mary, the Rev. Arno Gustin, O.S.B., this 342-seat hall accommodates lectures, theater, and music.
  • McDowell Activity Center: Named for Harley and Margaret McDowell, who improved the quality of life through leisure activities in the region, this facility includes a gymnasium area for basketball and volleyball, a weight training room, classrooms, offices, an athletic training treatment room, locker rooms, and the Athletic Training, Biomechanics, and Kinesiology programs.
  • The Richard A. Tschider Center for Health Science: Named for the long-time administrator of St. Alexius Medical Center, this building includes classrooms, labs, faculty offices, a conference room and a weight room, and adjoins the McDowell Activity Center. It is also the home of the Exercise Science program.
  • University Hall: An original campus building that housed the cafeteria and student activities, this facility includes a beautiful view of the Missouri River valley, and now houses the Hamm School of Engineering on the upper level, and laboratory space for the Saint Gianna School of Health Sciences on portions of the lower level.
    • The Hamm School of Engineering is a state-of-the-art facility. Opened in 2020 and created with input from more than 35 top-level engineering companies, it features a machine shop, student design center, a design fundamentals lab, and multiple lab spaces dedicated to each major. An extension housing additional lab space for upper-level civil engineering and construction management courses is under construction and will be completed in Summer 2022.
  • On-Campus Residences: An active student residential community of approximately 1,300 students reside in a variety of student residences. There are three traditional residence halls and three that feature two-bedroom suites sharing bath facilities. Two residence additional halls are designated as faith-based intentional living spaces; four halls feature apartment-style housing.
  • Wellness Center/Field House: This facility provides opportunities for student recreation and physical development. The facility includes four multi-use basketball/volleyball/tennis courts, a regulation NCAA six-lane 200-meter running track, batting cages, a climbing wall and bouldering cave, and a racquetball court. The Wellness Center includes a wide variety of exercise machines, weight lifting equipment, and group fitness room. This facility is also the home of Marauders Athletics, with space dedicated to athletic administration, coaches’ offices, and locker rooms.
  • Leach Center for Student Life: This facility serves as a social hub, containing a large room for special events, including banquets, student concerts, and dances.
  • Clairmont Center for Performing Arts: Named after a Bismarck leader in construction and land development, Bill Clairmont, who has served on University Boards and supported its growth over the years, this two-story complex includes Benet Chapel, classrooms, faculty offices and studios, an art gallery, practice rooms, a music technology lab, Mandan Rehearsal Hall, and R.M. Heskett recital hall.
  • Benedictine Center for Servant Leadership: Known as Annunciation Priory from 1959 to 2000, this Marcel Breuer-designed building was dedicated to the Benedictine Sisters of the Annunciation by Myron and Marjory Atkinson, Bismarck Catholic leaders and benefactors. It houses most administrative offices, the Liffrig Family School Education and Behavioral Sciences, Boniface and Boniface West residence halls, St. Joseph residence hall, faculty offices, classrooms, the Marauders Cove coffee shop, the Harold Schafer Leadership Center, and two campus chapels: Our Lady of the Annunciation and Our Lady of the Word.
  • Harold Schafer Leadership Center: Named after the renowned North Dakota entrepreneur, the center is located within the Benedictine Center. It includes an executive boardroom, the Great Room-designed for gatherings with full catering services, and two computer technology labs containing the latest computer hardware and software for specialized technology training.
  • Liffrig Family School of Education and Behavioral Sciences: Named in recognition of the family of Duane and Doris Liffrig, lifelong supporters of Catholic education, this facility includes offices for faculty who teach in the Education, Criminal Justice, Psychology, Social Work, and Counseling programs. In addition, this facility has four technology-enhanced classrooms and a student resource room and lounge area.
  • Gary Tharaldson School of Business: Dedicated in the fall of 2008 and named for North Dakota entrepreneur and businessman Gary Tharaldson, this facility is the home of the academic programs in Business. It contains classrooms, conference rooms, faculty offices, Butler Auditorium, and the A. Kirk Lanterman Financial Center.
  • Welder Library: Constructed in 1998, Welder Library is dedicated to the Benedictine Sisters of Annunciation Monastery and bears the name of Sister Thomas Welder, OSB, president emerita of the University of Mary. Welder Library facility provides space for classrooms and faculty offices for the School of Arts and Sciences. It also includes Student Success Center and Career Services.